Backpacking with a HIJAB 101 – Part I

Tips for Hijabi Backpackers

This Blog Sparkles

I have travelled both as a non-Hijabi and a Hijabi in my life. While most of my solitary travels begin after I started putting on my headscarf, I have learnt many unspoken rules and tips the hard way. So in this attempt to share some of it, I have divided this post into 4 different categories :-

1. Packing the load
2. Outdoor activities
3. Airport Security
4. General tips

1. Packing the load

Packing the load includes picking out the right headscarf to wear, and tips of how to fold them with minimal creases and space consumption. So let’s get to it!

– Know the weather of the destination of travel

Oh boy, did I learn this the hard way. I was in India in August ’11 (in her monsoon season) where I was donning on my favorite thick red Pashmina. Due to the weight, it holds great on…

View original post 969 more words

One thought on “Backpacking with a HIJAB 101 – Part I

Leave a Reply

