‎Self-love cannot flourish in isolation…

‎Self-love cannot flourish in isolation. It is no easy task to be self-loving. Simple axioms that make self-love sound easy only make matters worse. It leaves many people wondering why, if it is so easy, they continue to be trapped by feelings of low self-esteem or self-hatred. Seeing a working definition of love that tells us it is the action we take on behalf of our own or another’s spiritual growth provides us with a beginning blueprint for working on the issue of self-love. When we see love as a combination of trust, commitment, care, respect, knowledge, and responsibility, we can work on developing these qualities or, if they are already a part of who we are, we can learn to extend them to ourselves.” – Bell Hooks

3 thoughts on “‎Self-love cannot flourish in isolation…

  1. A round of applause for the worthy Ms. Hooks. I’ve been my own best friend for about ten years now and have never been more at peace. I can eyeball myself in the shaving mirror every morning as I ruminate on what will be good for us to do today. My two principle weapons in winning this lifetime struggle were forgiveness (including the forgiving of self) and respect for self/others. I encourage every living person to seek the knowledge necessary to make themselves accepting of who they are.

    • I’m struggling with both of those, and I am happy for your victory. I view myself as a “loner” as well- but to an extreme level, and I have no idea why. Lately I’ve been accepting that I am not typically a sane person, and there’s no real reason to want to be one; accept your insanity and express it. : )

      • When it comes to the individual psyche I do not believe that there is a ‘typical’. Each of the 7-odd billion of us is unique. Some of the nicest people I have met in my life were delighted to be able to refer to themselves as ‘eccentric’, a lovely term that could well apply to you. Please consider. And please continue to write (I’ll be watching)

Leave a Reply

